chicago artists, interviews, street art

interview with Solo RM.

 

02

 

 

It seems that the more artists I send this set of questions to, the more I am surprised by one or two of the answers. not that i expect certain answers from looking @ their work. Its just some things you never know unless you ask. Thats why Im happy to have emailed solo RM. He sent some great pictures, and shared some things that you might never guess from looking @ his work. And ultimately thats what Im always hoping to hear from people. 

“Solo’s vast repertoire includes everything from public-art murals and mix-tape illustrations to airbrushed t-shirts to graphic design projects and caricatures to comic book commissions and formal fine arts training at the American Academy of Art in Chicago, Illinois. “

 

 

1. Besides the long winter, hot summer, bad transit, highest sales tax anywhere, and a crazy mayor, why Chicago?

 

I was raised here and for my money, despite all the aforementioned downsides, there’s no city quite like Chicago. Truly the in the middle of ‘laid back Cali’ and ‘hustle-bustle NY’. Friends, family and I’m just too damn old to start new anywhere else, but you never know.

 

 

 

2. What is it about graffiti that first drew you to it?

 

At first, it was the whole ‘I have never seen anything like this ever before in all my life!’ thing. Then, I guess, the whole ‘fame’ thing I was too young to know was a waste of time. And now, it’s just a part of me. It doesn’t define me but it is a part of who I am and what I do.

 

solo

 

 

3. What’s for breakfast?

 

Usually coffee. Bagels or cereal here and there. Scramby eggs with sun dried tomatoes.

 

 

 

4. Who has been the biggest influence in your work?

 

It’s a toss up between Arthur Adams, Rick Leonardi and J.C. Leyendecker. Two under rated comic book artists and an illustration contemporary of Norman Rockwell. I learned a lot of what I know by studying them and even though it may not show, I owe a lot to their incredible body of work. And a couple close friends.

 

 

 

5. What do you do to get out of a creative slump?

 

Skeet shoot. Or go for a bike ride. Most times I just drop everything art related until I ‘feel it’ again.

 

 

d_oc_color_final_02

 

6. Is there a book you could read over and over?

 

Not really.

 

 

 

7. How do you know when a piece is complete?

 

Usually when I’ve run out of time, but I tend to work with a final image in my head. I know exactly what I want to make. Digitally, I can hit my mark pretty well. With other media I get as close as possible then quit before I overwork it.

I will often see things I’d like to add to a certain piece much later so I guess, sometimes, it’s never really finished.

 

untitled-2

 

 

 

8. Do you have any thing coming up you’d like to plug?

 

Ugh, plenty. But for now, stop by my site. (www.arempire.com)

And there will probably be a second installment of my first sketch book “Solo RM: Art from the Arempire”. This time it’ll most likely be a full color pin up book of sorts. We’ll see. Things are always popping up so it’s hard to say. Thanks.

page_03-copy
Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

