artists, street art

“a sacred moment” R.I.P Keith Haring

21 years ago today keith haring passed away from AIDS related complications. im not gonna say much. just post some pics, and quotes from interviews. if you feel like it check out his website. and look into the keith haring foundation. he was a awesome guy. and deserves some recognition today.

 

“These kids, who were obviously very young and from the streets, had this incredible mastery of drawing which totally blew me away. I mean, just the technique of drawing with spray paint is amazing, because it’s incredibly difficult to do. And the fluidity of line, and the way they handled scale – doing this work on these huge, huge trains. And always the hard-edged black line that tied the drawings together! It was the line I had been obsessed with since childhood!”

“It was the idea of making the movements I was doing into a kind of choreography – a kind of dance. I was thinking that the very act of painting placed you in an exhilarated state – it was a sacred moment.”

 

“No matter how long you work, it’s always going to end sometime. And there’s always going to be things left undone. And it wouldn’t matter if you lived until you were seventy-five. There would still be new ideas. There would still be things that you wished you would have accomplished. You could work for several lifetimes. If I could clone myself, there would still be too much work to do – even if there were five of me. And there are no regrets. Part of the reason that I’m not having trouble facing the reality of death is that it’s not a limitation, in a way. It could have happened any time, and it is going to happen sometime. If you live your life according to that, death is irrelevant. Everything I’m doing right now is exactly what I want to do.”

 

“Unfortunately, death is a fact of life. I don’t think it’s happened to me any more unfairly than to anyone else. It could always be worse. I’ve lost a lot of people, but I haven’t lost everybody. I didn’t lose my parents or my family. But it’s been an incredible education, facing death, facing it the way that I’ve had to face it at this early age. I guess it’s similar to what it must have been to go to with and to lose your friends while you’re at war. A lot of people don’t start to lose their friends until they’re fifty or sixty years old. But to start having it happen when you’re in your mid-twenties – especially because a lot of the people that I’ve lost have been lost because of AIDS – to have it happen that way, in a way which can many times be very slow and very horrible and very painful, you know, it’s been really hard. It’s toughened me. It’s made me, in a way, more respectful of life and more appreciative of life than I ever, ever could have been.”

Discussion

One thought on ““a sacred moment” R.I.P Keith Haring

  1. great quotes.

    Posted by jeremy | February 17, 2011, 5:26 am

Leave a Reply

